About Us

Safe Surgery Saves Lives


Five billion people lack access to safe surgical care. Surgical disease kills more people annually than HIV, TB and malaria combined. Unfortunately, surgical capacity is least where it is needed most. Surgical care in low resource settings is cost effective and an indispensable, indivisible part of basic health care. Our philosophy is to work with anesthesia providers in low and middle-income countries (LMIC) to develop self-sustaining programs appropriate to their own needs. Consultations and collaborations with ministries of health, anesthesia providers, anesthesia societies, and local training institutions are key to building successful partnerships.

With partners – including the University of Rwanda, the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists, the American Society of Anesthesiologists, the Canadian Network for International Surgery, Dalhousie University, Queens University, McMaster University, University of Toronto, Western University, and Global Affairs Canada – we collaborate in low resource settings to build capacity for safe, sustainable anesthesia and perioperative care.

CASIEF currently focuses on collaborative international partnerships in:

  • Rwanda
  • Guyana
  • Ethiopia
  • Burkina Faso


“Consent obtained for the use of all pictures on the website”

Board of Trustees

The CASIEF Board of Trustees actively leads the Foundation’s activities and champions its partnerships globally.

Dylan Bould
Patty LivingstonVice Chair/Vice-Présidente
Patricia Livingston
O'learyCAS President/Présidente de la SCA
Susan O’Leary
user iconTrustee/Administrateur
André Bernard
user iconTrustee/Administrateur
Francesco Carli
user iconTrustee/Administrateur
Alezandre Dauphin
user iconTrustee/Administrateur
Tristan Dumbarton
user iconTrustee/Administrateur
Angela Enright
user iconTrustee/Administrateur
Kerri Hornby
user iconTrustee/Administrateur
Gregory Klar
user iconTrustee/Administrateur
Jason McVicar
user iconTrustee/Administrateur
Michelle Murray
CASIEF 2 Lp PoulinTrustee/Administrateur
Louis-Pierre Poulin
user iconTrustee/Administrateur
Jennifer Szerb
user iconTrustee/Administrateur
Greg Silverman
user iconTrustee/Administrateur
Joel Parlow
user iconCorresponding Member/Membres correspondants
Krista Brecht
user iconCAS Executive Director/Directeur général de la SCA
Debra M Thomson